Oli resigns before no- trust vote


 The House had debated on the motion for three days. The motion was registered by the Nepali Congress and the CPN- Maoist Centre with the support of 13 parties on July 13 after CPN- MC withdrew support to the Oli- led government, blaming him for not abiding by agreements reached between the two parties and going against coalition culture.

In the second meeting held today, the Speaker read out a letter from the President’s office that stated that PM Oli had tendered his resignation in accordance with Article 298 ( 8) ( a) and he was deputed as caretaker PM until another Council of Ministers is constituted in accordance with Article 298 ( 10).

“ Since the PM resigned, the House did not have to put the motion of no- confidence tabled by 281 lawmakers, including Pushpa Kamal Dahal, as per Article 298 ( 13) to vote for decision,” Gharti said.

PM Oli said he had to step down as he was cornered by the newly formed alliance.

Before addressing the House, he met President Bidhya Devi Bhandari at Shital Niwas and submitted his resignation.

The PM put forth nearly one dozen questions before the new coalition and asked what would be the future of the development programmes initiated by his government, such as Kathmandu- Nijgadh fast track. He even defended the performance of his nine- month government.

Towards the end of his speech, he said, “ After dependent bills of budget failed in the Parliament, I understood that I did not have the support of the majority members of the Parliament who elected me PM. ” Caretaker Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli shaking hands with CPN- Maoist Centre Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal after informing the Parliament about his resignation, on Sunday.

THT Resignation accepted Kathmandu: President Bidhya Devi Bhandari has accepted the resignation of Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli. According to a press release issued by the Office of the President, the PM tendered his resignation as per Article 298 ( 8) ( a) of the constitution with effect from Sunday. The President has assigned the same Council of Ministers to perform its task until a new government is formed. — HNS




Sources- Himalayan Times